top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStephanie Fernandez

Horizon (Part 3): LSI in Motion

Hello, fellow penguins! I’ve taken a lengthy hiatus since I released Horizon (Part 2): Dissecting My LSI and I have lots to share about how my horizon has transformed since then!


But first: We finally have the green light to travel to Antarctica! It’s been a long period of uncertainty and a struggle to keep up the momentum over the past two years, but the announcement we’ve all been waiting for is here—Team HB6 will embark on our voyage in November 2023! I sincerely appreciate the patience, understanding, and encouragement of my supporters during this journey, and I can’t wait to tell you more about our plans for Antarctica as they emerge!


Image description: A horizon of water, ice floes, and snowy mountains.

For now, on to a few life updates…


It’s been a year of major milestones and I’ve been putting my HB6 experience and Life Styles Inventory (LSI) takeaways into action sooner than I anticipated.


“Dr. Nia Fernandez”


As identified through my LSI coaching sessions, a major area for growth is in celebrating my wins. My personal challenge is to be more intentional about making room for joy and honouring each milestone (or even the small wins). To be honest, for years, I had been adamant that I wasn’t interested in attending a convocation ceremony. Even up until the moment I submitted my final thesis, I wasn’t considering it. However, upon further reflection, I realised that this was a prime chance to start changing some of my avoidant habits and put my LSI learnings in motion.


Image description: A series of three photographs of Nia in academic regalia during their convocation ceremony. Their robes are scarlet with a pale green silk lining. They are wearing a black velvet wide-brimmed hat (a Tudor bonnet). The first photograph shows Nia on stage receiving a tap on the shoulder by the Chancellor, a man wearing dark blue academic robes. In the second photograph, Nia poses at the end of the stage. The last image is of Nia standing outdoors with their hands on their hips while looking off to the side. A side-by-side comparison is made with an illustration depicting a man wearing typical Tudor fashion, including a voluminous jacket and a Tudor bonnet. The man adopts a similar pose: hands on his hips and gazing off to the side. (Illustration source).


I joke that the only reason I registered for my convocation was to wear the “funny PhD hat” (also known as a Tudor bonnet). And yes, it was an amazing hat and I wore it at a rakish angle all day long, including out to lunch with friends and family. But also, celebrating myself and my journey (both academic and personal) was empowering. I was reminded of how many people are rooting for me and eager to celebrate right alongside me. Remembering that I’ve previously self-assessed in my LSI1 as being ‘reserved’, somewhat ‘evasive’, and having ‘difficulty being accepted’, intentionally sharing joy with my loved ones at convocation was a step in a positive direction.


And from one graduation to another…


Homeward Bound 6 Graduation!


No funny hat for this one, but it was no less exciting: our HB6 graduation! I’m so proud to officially join as the 498th member of our growing alumnae network of “intelligent, compassionate, highly skilled leaders”, as it’s worded on our HB certificates. For me, the HB6 program has consistently sparked learning, engagement, growth, and solidarity during a challenging few pandemic years.


Image description: A certificate with a teal background and featuring the Homeward Bound logo. Text reads, “This certificate is awarded to Stephanie Fernandez; 498/10,000; To certify that this intelligent, compassionate, highly skilled leader has joined the global initiative of homeward bound and has completed its leadership program. They will now endeavour to lead, take action and collaborate, as they are able, towards strategic and visible impacts that ensure the sustainability of our planet.” The certificate is signed by Pamela Sutton-Legaud, CEO, Homeward Bound Projects.


I’ve written about many of the HB discussion topics and leadership development tools here on this blog. However, the greatest benefit of this program remains its people—the invaluable relationships built with incredible leaders whom I would otherwise have little chance of meeting.


Though our formal HB6 programming is complete (save for the Antarctic voyage), the engagement is far from over. Team HB6 is now part of The Convergence, the alumnae network comprising all participants from HB1 to HB6 and counting. Over the past two years, I’ve had some connection with different HB cohorts via the Busara Circle, an elder program serving to support HB women through the wisdom of experienced leaders.


Earlier this year, I jumped at another opportunity to engage more deeply across cohorts…


Homeward Bound Inter-Cohort Networking Program


Image description: A banner with a floral border and a graphic of three women with their arms around each other. Text reads, “Homeward Bound Inter-Cohort Networking Program 2022”.


As part of a 12-member inter-cohort group, I’ve enjoyed monthly meetups to share experiences, reflections, resources, and suggestions related to different leadership topics. Together, we’ve discussed Leading from Below & Influencing Sideways, Navigating Conflict, Emotional Intelligence, and, of course, Antarctica. Hearing about past experiences in Antarctica from members of Teams HB2, HB3, and HB4 certainly renewed my anticipation and excitement for my own pending voyage! It’s truly enriching to have these spaces for exchange among women in STEMM, whether to discuss theoretical concepts, our leadership philosophies, or to request practical advice.


One revelation emerging in part from my involvement in this program is that I’m more senior in my career than I think. My experience, skills, and mindset are increasingly placing me in a position to support, advise, and mentor, even among people I assumed were more senior than me.


Which leads us to…


A New Job!


An all-too-brief two days after submitting the final version of my doctoral thesis, I started a new position as the inaugural manager of equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) for the Faculty of Engineering at McGill University. This is an opportunity to leverage my STEMM training, my leadership training, and my track record of EDI advocacy in higher education. In this role, I oversee an umbrella of EDI programs and projects, advise senior leadership, and develop strategies to weave fairness, inclusion, and community into the fabric of engineering. You can read more in my recent Q&A with our University Advancement team!


The position covers many of the major areas of interest I identified through my LSI coaching and other mentoring sessions: influencing curricula and culture in STEMM education, community outreach to underrepresented groups, and opportunities for science communication. I’ve been enthusiastically applying tools HB6 has explored in the past year, like core values assessments and strategy mapping.


With many ongoing opportunities to (re)introduce myself, I’m also being mindful of my leadership narrative and the image I want to project. My LSI results boosted my confidence in my impact, reminding me that—far more than I estimate—my behaviour is constructive. For example, even when I think I’m being stubborn (Oppositional), I am able to transform that motivation into constructive efforts that positively influence others and shape their development (Humanistic-Encouraging).


An area where I’ve identified room for growth is in recognising perfectionistic tendencies and discerning when an effort is “good enough” to keep the ball rolling (*ahem* relevant to keeping up this blog as well!). In a demanding position where I oversee many moving parts, it is key to develop strategic prioritisation and know how much energy to allot to different tasks. As much as I want to excel at everything, a healthy dose of “good enough” in some areas is actually more impactful in the long run.


As I continue shaping my new role, relationships, and environment, I look forward to reflecting more deeply on how I might influence a new model of leadership—one of the major ongoing topics of discussion within the Homeward Bound network.


What would an ideal model of leadership look like to you? Log in to leave a comment (sign-up is free) or contact me to share your thoughts.


Until next time!


37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page